KinesicMouse freezing after creating new profile

KinesicMouse forum
Post Reply
H3llv1s
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:29 pm

KinesicMouse freezing after creating new profile

Post by H3llv1s »

I have a question regarding a problem with KinesicMouse (version 3.2.4): After the program has worked without problems until now, the following case occurred last week: when starting the program I am asked if the application is allowed to use the camera and face recognition, this was not the case until now. If you accept this, the tutorial starts, and after the tutorial ends, the program starts normally. However, all my saved profiles have disappeared. If I want to create a new profile and save it, the camera freezes and the program closes automatically. After restarting the program, the whole procedure starts all over again, including the prompt and tutorial. I have reinstalled the program, which has not led to any change. Do you have any ideas on how I can solve the problem with creating new profiles?
User avatar
Xcessity
Site Admin
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 2:23 pm
Location: Graz
Contact:

Re: KinesicMouse freezing after creating new profile

Post by Xcessity »

Hi,

this sounds like your settings file got corupted. This happens when the PC is not shut down properly or you accidently start the KinesicMouse twice (only possible with older versions of the KinesicMouse).

Solution:
0. Close the KinesicMouse
1. Go to folder C:\Users\[USERNAME]\AppData\Local\Xcessity Software Solutions\KinesicMouse Live
2. Delete the file named "settings.xml"
3. Restart the KinesicMouse

Be aware that this solution deletes all existing profiles. The profiles are stored in the settings.xml. You might be able to recover the profiles by restoring anything in the <SETTINGS id="your_profile"> ... </SETTINGS> tags.

Best,
M
H3llv1s
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:29 pm

Re: KinesicMouse freezing after creating new profile

Post by H3llv1s »

Thank you very much for your help in solving the problem. It worked the way you described it. Now I finally don't have to redo all the settings every time I start the program ... Although I was already doing it pretty quickly! (;
Post Reply