How to install macros in Project IRIS

User avatar
Xcessity
Site Admin
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 2:23 pm
Location: Graz
Contact:

How to install macros in Project IRIS

Postby Xcessity » Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:54 am

Hi,

here is how you install a new macro in IRIS. The samples you find around in this forum usually look something like this:

Code: Select all

<MACRO id="SoundEffect">
  <MAIN>
    <SOUNDEFFECT file="D:\resources\sounds\centered.wav" />
  </MAIN>
</MACRO>



So to use this in an interactor follow these steps:
  1. Go to settings->Interactors
  2. Choose the interactor you want to trigger the macro with and click the "Edit" button
  3. In the "Edit Interactor" window choose the "Action" tab from the top
  4. From the drop down "Action type" choose "Macro"
  5. Click the "Edit" button at the bottom
  6. A text editor will open. Copy and paste the macro at the second last line of the file. The last line must remain and read: "</XY_MACROS>"
  7. Save the file and close the editor.
  8. Hit the "Reload" button in IRIS
  9. You can now choose the newly installed macro from the "Macro to execute" dropdown.


For completeness there is one option left that needs explanation. Some macros can be programmed to loop several times or even loop infinite times. So if you want that the macro is forced to stop once the interactor is deactivated make sure to check the "Stop macro on deactivation" checkmark. A macro that gets stopped will immediately move to the <END> section and end after executing this section.
It is usually a good idea to leave this checkmark checked. This avoids that you run into problems running the macro infinite by accident.
Guus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: Netherland

Re: How to install macros in Project IRIS

Postby Guus » Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:55 pm

Thanks for explanation. But i have only a little experience with QBase, when Dos was at that time the OS. Yes i know, i'm old.
I want to learn programming again, its is fun. But at the moment i have no time for it. Maybe about 4 or 5 years ? (Crying out loud) ;-)

Still, i have a "big" question.
How do i make a macro and where do i put a macro to pause Iris with my left-mouse-button as long as i hold that leftmouse-button? And when i release the leftmouse-button, Iris is unpaused and running again?
The easy way would be the option to PAUSE Iris for as long as i hold down the leftmouse-button. An idea how i can make that happen?

Some info about my pc: Windows 7 Ultimate with an Intel i7, 3x usb3.0 and a Roccat Tyon mouse. And of course Tobii EyeX and Iris.

Is here somebody who wants to help an (old) man ? :-)
Guus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: Netherland

Re: How to install macros in Project IRIS

Postby Guus » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:11 pm

I have searched for almost 3 days and i think i've found the best there is for me (at this moment).
Its a pitty that Iris has not enough options to change some settings so we can adjust it to our personal needs.
"x-mouse-button-control" Is what i've found. I hope somebody of us likes it too.
(I apologise if this is not the right place to react or help, sorry for that. Than i request the admin to correct my mistake, thx.)

Return to “Macros”